Update Time!

Hello everybody. It’s been a while since an update, and I’m sorry for that. You see, I finally landed a job, so I’ve had less time to not only keep the blog up to date, but even to play games!

I live in the burbs, but I work in downtown Seattle, so my commute is a little long (but way better than it was in CA!). It has been a fun experience since I drive to a train station and then take the train the rest of the way to work.

You may ask, so why don’t you make posts while on the train?!? Surely you have time then! Yes, actually I do have time on the train, but honestly, it’s a combination of having the slowest iPad in history (I don’t even bring it with me) and absolutely hating the app version of WordPress! Why doesn’t it have all of the features of the web interface?!?

Regardless, I want to keep making updates, so I’m using the hated app on my iPhone on the train this morning. Eventually I will get a laptop, but you know… Six months without work means the bank account takes a hit, so I’ll make due for now.

In more blog news, I’ve realizes that I’m not really doing anything new. In that regard I’ve been trying to think of ways to change things up a bit. One thing that I have to do is make sure that I keeps schedule. The weekly updates were getting to be a bit much, and I’m not good enough at taking notes (and my memory is crap) so trying to write about the actual game-play experience is difficult to do in a way that is exciting to read.

In that vein, I am going to try and publish a full game review once a month, and then I will keep doing the brief overview posts as I play new (to me) games… But maybe not for every new game that I play. Finally, I am going to try and post at least one additional article per month in which I get into some aspect of gaming that you may or may not have thought of.

Before I close out this update, I’ll give a little bit of what I’ve been playing lately. First of all, Blue Highway Games had their monthly board game challenge last Saturday. The game of the challenge was Barony. I had never played Barony, but in preparation I watched several videos and then downloaded the rule book. I ended up winning the first round by a mere two points. In the second round at first it looked like I would win, then the second player (I was the start player) was going to tie my points (in which the tie break is “furthest player from the start player”) which means he would win, and then we got to the last player and he made some settlements and took the win!

Aside from that I finally made it out to a Commander night and played some Magic: the Gathering… But that’s a subject for another blog.

One thing that I have been doing on the train commute is some app gaming, notably Star Realms and Hearthstone. Star Realms is great, and I have games continually with my friends back in California. Honestly though, Star Realms is such a mix of strategy and randomness, that many times it doesn’t seem like I have many choices to make. Still, I really enjoy the game and the virtual time that I get to spend with my friends.

Hearthstone on the other hand is a very interesting game. It is a collectible card game that has been around for a long time. Since I haven’t played it much, it means that most players have a massively bigger collection than me. I’m working on it though, and I like the Tavern Brawl challenges since much of the time it levels the playing field. I haven’t gotten deep enough yet to have decks with “strategy” as of yet, I just pick a deck type and go through the card list grabbing things that seem like they will work well together.

My train is almost to the station, so I’ll close this out now. Have a good rest of the week!

Leave a Reply

